studying at st barnabas

Commencement 2020

Beginning 2020

Our annual commencement service was held on Wednesday 19th February. Hosted in St Peter’s Cathedral, it was a fantastic opportunity to acknowledge the previous year’s graduates and the recipients of academic awards; to hear an address from The Right Rev’d John Stead, Bishop of the Diocese of Willochra; and to participate in the commissioning of The Rev’d Dr Cathy Thomson, The Rev’d Dr Don Owers, and The Rev’d Nic Denny-Dimitriou, who were respectively commissioned to the roles of Principal, Ministry Development Advisor for the Diocese of Adelaide, and Director of Formation. This was then followed by refreshments across the road at the college.


Doctor of Philosophy with University Medal

Ruth Mathieson

Graduate Certificate in Ministry

David Bassett

Bachelor of Theology (Honours) First Class

Lachlan Davis (in absentia)

Bachelor of Theology (Honours)

William Deng
Margaret Dingle
Catherine Smith

Bachelor of Theology with Distinction

Jo Smith (in absentia)

Bachelor of Theology

Wendy Morecroft

Diploma in Theology

Cameron Dow


Albert Reginald Thrush Prize for Theological Studies
Presented by Mrs Leah Schubert, Granddaughter of The Rev’d Albert Reginald Thrush

Peter Chapman

Anglicare-SA Prize for Ministry
Presented by The Rev’d Peter Sandeman, Chief Executive Officer AnglicareSA

Wendy Morecroft

St Peter’s Cathedral Prize for Best Commencing Student
Presented by The Rev’d Canon, Jenny Wilson

Dean McDonald

St Barnabas College Prize for Academic Excellence (UG)
Presented by The Rev’d Dr Cathy Thomson

Jo Smith (in absentia)

St Barnabas College Prize for Academic Excellence (PG)
Presented by The Rev’d Dr Cathy Thomson

Ruth Mathieson


To see some photos from the night, check them out on our Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 + thirteen =

Join Our Mailing List